Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

A (small) selection of my (large) collection of vintage books on collecting.

A (small) selection of my (large) collection of vintage books on collecting.

I own a ridiculous number of books on collections and collecting.  And although I know it’s ridiculously large, every week I continue to add to it.  Worse, I am contemplating adding to the field myself.

So many books on antiques and collecting focus on museum-quality collections; the detection of high-level forgery; and other equally esoteric aspects of collecting.  It seems to me that a truly useful book would focus more on identifying what I call ‘everyday antiques.’  A book that would help readers identify and value what they already have, understand whether it’s 20 years old or 200 and how to tell the difference.

I’m very curious to know your opinions and ideas.  What kind of book would you like to see? What unanswered questions do you have about antiques, market value, appraisal, estate issues or anything else related to the tangible goods we surround ourselves with?

Please take a minute to jot down your suggestions and questions in the comment box, below.  The motto of Tangible Good is “We value what matters to you.” That includes your ideas.

